Holy Trinity School A Catholic Community of Service & Academic Excellence Serving students from Preschool through Grade 8

Skip to main content
Mobile Menu

Extra Curricular Activities

 
academic challengeAcademic Challenge League 
Academic Challenge is for students in 7th and 8th grade. Holy Trinity School typically fields two teams each consisting of both 7th and 8th grade students, who compete in a quiz show format against other Catholic schools in Lorain County. Prep sessions are held after school on Wednesdays beginning October through December. Matches are held after school at Holy Trinity and competing schools on Wednesdays January through March. Mrs. Beth Davis, beth.davis@htsavon.org, Mrs. Lisa Jaeger, lisa.jaeger@htsavon.org
 
coding clubCoding Club
Coding Club is for students in 4th and 5th grade with an interest in computer programming. Students learn about the JAVA language and complete small projects using JAVA blocks.  This club meets one Tuesday a month after school.
Mrs. Patricia Sas, patricia.sas@htsavon.org
 
cooking club
 
Cooking Club
Cooking Club is for students in 5th through 8th grade. A monthly menu is published and students sign up each month for one of two Wednesday afternoons to work together and create seasonal edible creations. 
Mr. Ben Miller, ben.miller@htsavon.org, Megan Mazzella, megan.mazzella@htsavon.org 
 
 
boyscoutsCub Scout Pack 462 & Boy Scout Troop 462 
Holy Trinity Parish and School is proud to have its own Cub Scout Pack for students in grades 1-5 and Boy Scout Troop for students in grades 5-12. Both are open to students and parishioners from St. Mary School. Students in Cub Scouts participate in smaller den activities and a larger pack activity each month including the Raingutter Regatta, Pinewood Derby, and two camping trips each year. Boy Scouts meet on Sunday evenings, camp regularly and participate in local council activities. Troop 462 is proud to have had eight scouts earn their Eagle Scout rank in the last three years. Cub      
   Scouts: Mrs. Kathy Gee, kegee72@gmail.com, Mr. Mike Walther, mwalther@yahoo.com, 
   Mr. Ryan Temple ryan@technologyinstallpartners.com Boy Scouts: Mrs. Renee Wilczewski, rswilczewski@hotmail.com
 
drama clubDrama Club
Drama Club is for students in 4th through 8th grade. All students who audition get a part in the cast or chorus. Rehearsals begin in January and are held after school on Tuesdays and Fridays and then every day the last two weeks before the show. The 2017 show, Peter Pan Jr., will be performed on Friday, March 31st at 7pm and Saturday, April 1st at 2pm at Avon High School. Mrs. Tiffany Cornell, tiffany.cornell@htsavon.org, Miss Megan Mazzella, megan.mazzella@htsavon.org, Mr. Matt Hess matthew.hess@htsavon.org, 
 
 
eager engineersEager Engineers (K and up)
Eager Engineers is for students in Grades 1 - 4. Students learn problem solving, math and science concepts while working with Legos, K'nex and CitiBlocs. Classes meet on Tuesdays after school for five consecutive weeks.
Cheryl Wilson, cwilson@kidzart.com
 
 
film club
 
Film Club
Film Club is for students in 6th through 8th grade with an interest in film. Students use iPads to record videos and then edit them using iMovie. Completed projects are shown over the school's morning broadcast. This club meets once a month on Thursday after a school for a learning session and then every Friday during lunch/recess to both film and edit. Mrs. Patricia Sas, patricia.sas@htsavon.org, Mr. Michael Modzeleski, michael.modzeleski@htsavon.org
 
 
 
history club logoHistory Club
History Club is for students in 5th and 6th grade. This club meets once a month on Fridays after school to learn about historical events not covered in the graded course of study, develop a deeper understanding of our government and learn                                        more about our great state of Ohio. Mrs. Erica Hartle, erica.hartle@htsavon.org, Miss Noelle Castrigano,           
                                     noelle.castrigano@htsavon.org
 
choir logo
 
Junior High Choir(6-8)
Junior High Choir is for students in 6th through 8th grade.  Students meet regularly during lunch and recess to learn vocal techniques and practice songs together.  This group performs at our annual Spring Concert for students in Grades 3-5.
Matthew Hess, matthew.hess@htsavon.org
 
 
kidz art logo
 
KidzArt
KidzArt is for students in Grades K-4.   
Classes meet weekly after school on either Mondays or Wednesdays for five weeks per session to complete exciting new art projects. Cheryl Wilson, cwilson@kidzart.com
 
 
 
Math ClubMath Club
Math club is for any 5th through 8th grade student who has a strong interest in math or problem solving. This class meets after school on designated Wednesdays each month.  Students explore math topics such as the Fibonacci Sequence, Pascal’s Triangle, Binary Numbers, computer science and logic puzzles.  Students can also choose to participate in the Greater Cleveland Council of Teachers Mathematics Problem Solving Contest.  Mrs. Nancy Wild, nancy.wild@htsavon.org and Mr. Greg Fesz, greg.fesz@htsavon.org
 
math enrichment logoMath Enrichment 
This supplemental math class is for students in 8th grade and covers certain topics more in depth than either the state standards or diocesan curriculum covered in the classroom. This class is helpful to those students preparing to take additional math exams at their high schools in the spring to determine their placement as freshmen. This class meets on select Thursdays after school. Mrs. Nancy Wild, nancy.wild@htsavon.org and Mr. Greg Fesz, greg.fesz@htsavon.org
 
 
violen Music Lessons
The Avon School of Music sends their instructors to Holy Trinity School to teach both group and individual lessons after school.  Students have taken lessons in guitar, violin, trumpet and other instruments as requested. Students perform before both our Grade K-2 Christmas Concert and our Grade 3-5 Spring Concert.
 
 
peer tutoringPeer Tutoring
Peer Tutoring is provided by 8th grade students to any grade level student needing assistance in any subject.  This group meets on Fridays after school. 
Mr. Greg Fesz, greg.fesz@htsavon.org
 
 
power of the penPower of the Pen
Power of the Pen is for students in 7th and 9th grade who have an interest in creative writing.  Students meet after school or during lunch/recess on Mondays to practice writing stories in response to a creative prompt. Students compete in a district competition and can qualify for regional and statewide competitions.
Mrs. Lisa Jaeger, lisa.jaeger@htsavon.org, Mrs. Tiffany Cornell, tiffany.cornell@htsavon.org
 
Science OlympiadScience Olympiad Team
Holy Trinity fields a varsity and junior varsity team of 7th and 8th grade students to compete in the St. Ignatius Science Olympiad. Students typically choose to compete in two of the fifteen testing and building events that align with their interest.  Prep sessions are held on Tuesdays and Fridays after school in October and November and the competition is usually held on a Saturday in late November.  Miss Nicole Castrigano, nicole.castrigano@htsavon.org, Mrs. Sandy Gorenc, sandy.gorenc@htsavon.org
 
  
scrapbook club
 
Scrapbooking and More
Scrapbooking and More is for students in 5th through 8th grade. This club meets once a month on Tuesdays after school to either make a seasonal craft or complete individual scrapbooking pages. 
Mrs. Kim Millar, kim.millar@htsavon.org, Mrs. Patricia Sas, patricia.sas@htsavon.org
 
 
Ski Club Logo
Ski Club
Holy Trinity School Ski Club is for students aged 8 to 18 and takes place on five Friday evenings in January and early February at Brandywine. Ski Club includes a once-a-week snow/lift ticket, rental equipment (if applicable), 5 one hour weekly lessons with a certified instructor, and free skiing/snowboarding for the remainder of the season on Fridays at no additional cost as well as four Value Passes for skiing at Alpine Valley, Boston Mills or Brandywine. Only students in 5th through 8th grade can also choose to ride the bus to and from the school for an additional fee. Others must provide their own transportation. Randy Battistoni, randy.battistoni@gmail.com
 
   
student council logoStudent Council
Peers elect officers and representatives from each class in 4th through 8th grade to be members of our student council. These students meet regularly during lunch/recess to plan school activities that build our school community including Red Ribbon Week, Veteran's Day Ceremony, Catholic Schools week, Candy Gram Sales and the Junior High Dance.  Mrs. Sherry St. John, sherry.stjohn@htsavon.org, Mrs. Erica Hartle, erica.hartle@htsavon.org and Mr. Ben Miller, ben.miller@htsavon.org
 
 
inventionInvention League 
Invention League is for students in 4th and 5th grade. Students research and identify a specific problem to solve. They design and make their own invention and learn how to market it. They will participate in an Invention League in Fair in February and can qualify for state and local competitions.  This club meets on most Wednesdays and Thursdays after school, December through
                                     February. Mrs. Sandy Gorenc, sandy.gorenc@htsavon.org and Mrs. Patricia Sas, patricia.sas@htsavon.org
 
CYO Sports
 
Please visit our CYO Page for more information.
 
  • Baseball
  • Cheerleading
  • Basketball
  • Cross Country
  • Football
  • Track and Field
  • Volleyball
 
Cheerbasketball
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

SpikeFootballVolleyball