Holy Trinity School A Catholic Community of Service & Academic Excellence Serving students from Preschool through Grade 8

Skip to main content
Mobile Menu

Extra Curricular Activities

 
 
academic challengeAcademic Challenge League 
Academic Challenge is for students in 7th and 8th grade. Holy Trinity School typically fields two teams each consisting of both 7th and 8th grade students, who compete in a quiz show format against other Catholic schools in Lorain County. Prep sessions are held after school on Wednesdays beginning October through December. Matches are held after school at Holy Trinity and competing schools on Wednesdays January through March 
                                 
                                      Mrs.Kim Kuchta: kim.kuchta@htsavon.org
                                      Ms. Melissa Johnson: melissa.johnson@htsavon.org 
                                      Mr. John Nunney: john.nunney@htsavon.org 
                                     
 
                       
   Coding Club
   Coding Club is for students in 4th and 5th grade with an interest in computer programming. Students learn about the JAVA language and        complete     small projects using JAVA blocks.  This club meets one Tuesday a month after school.
                             
   Mrs. Tera Cowdin: tera.cowdin@htsavon.org 
 
 
 
 
                              
  Mr. Hess's Guitar Lessons
  Our very own music teacher and experienced musician, Mr. Matt Hess will be offering guitar lessons for students in grades K-3
  Check back for more detailed information.
 
  Mr. Matthew Hess:  matthew.hess@htsavon.org 
 
 
                      
cooking club
 Cooking Club:
 
 Cooking Club is for students in 5th through 8th grade. A monthly menu is published and students sign up each month for  
 one of two Wednesday afternoons to work together and create seasonal edible creations. 
 
  Mrs. Kim Millar: kim.millar@htsavon.org 
                                       Mrs. Liz Concheck:  liz.concheck@htsavon.org 
 
 
  
boyscouts
Cub Scout Pack 462 & Boy Scout Troop 462 
Holy Trinity Parish and School is proud to have its own Cub Scout Pack for students (boys and girls) in grades 1-5 and Boy Scout Troop for students in grades 5-12. Both are open to students and parishioners from St. Mary School. Students in Cub Scouts participate in smaller den activities and a larger pack activity each month including the Raingutter Regatta, Pinewood Derby, and two camping trips each year. Boy Scouts meet on Sunday evenings, camp regularly and participate in local council activities. Troop 462 is proud to have had eight scouts earn their Eagle Scout rank in the last three years. Please check out our website for more information: Cub Scout Pack 462
 
    Cub Scouts: Mr. Erich Papesch, papesch@yahoo.com
    Boy Scouts: Mrs. Renee Wilczewski, rswilczewski@hotmail.com
 
 
  

 

 

   Drama Club: Holy Trinity Drama Club is for students in 5th through 8th grade. All students who audition get a part in the cast or chorus. Students may also join set on stage crew. Productions are full length and include hand-sewn costumes, a full set and props, blocking and choreography, and musical direction. Rehearsals begin in January and are held after school on Tuesdays and Fridays (then every day the last two weeks before the show). Past productions include Beauty and theBeast, Peter Pan, and Hairy Tale Rock.

 
                                  Mrs. Tiffany Cornell, tiffany.cornell@htsavon.org
 

 


 

 

 Art Club:

 

2:15-3:15pm

Grades: K-1- Wednesday (12 students max) for 5 week sessions ($75 fee per session)

Grades: 2-3 Thursday

Grades: 4-5 Friday

After School Art will be held at the end of the school day on Wednesdays (K-1), Thursdays (2-3), and Fridays (4-5).  Mrs. Joyce will be the instructor and will provide all the supplies. Projects will be an extension of what is done in art class, but at a slightly more advanced level.  Since there are only 12 students per class, we will be able to explore mediums that are easier to work with in small groups. There will be a large emphasis on pottery and glazing techniques, as so many of the kids request to work with clay, and there is just never enough time at school!  We will also explore batik (painting on fabric with hot wax), printmaking, and another fan-favorite “Sculpey” which is a colored polymer sculpting medium that can be baked in the oven. There will be a new project each week, and we will try to explore as many new things as we can! Hope you can join in on the fun!  

 

Jen Joyce:  jen.joyce@htsavon.org

 

 
Preschool Eager Artists
Eager Artists is for students in our Preschool.     
Classes meet weekly after school on Wednesdays for five weeks per session throughout the entire school year to complete exciting new art projects. 
 
 
eager engineersEager Engineers (K and up)   
Eager Engineers is for students in Grades 1 - 4. Students learn problem solving, math and science concepts while working with Legos, K'nex and CitiBlocs. Classes meet on Tuesdays after school for five weeks per session throughout the entire school year.   
 
 
Cheryl Wilson: cheryl@creativeclasses.org

 https://www.creativeclasses.org/

 

                                          

 

  Bible Study                            
 Bible Study meets once per month and is open to all 8th grade girls. Each  meeting discusses current events and social issues relating to the young ladies'   lives and how the Bible can relate to these topics
 
 
                             Ms. Megan Mazzella: megan.mazzella@htsavon.org 
 
 
    
history club logoHistory Club
History Club is for students in 4th and 5th grade. This club meets once a month on Fridays after school to learn about historical events not covered in the graded course of study, develop a deeper understanding of our government and learn more about our great state of Ohio.
 
                                     Mrs. Amy Akosi: amy.akosi@htsavon.org 
                                     Mrs. Erica Hartle: erica.hartle@htsavon.org 
 
 
choir logo
 
Junior High Choir(6-8)
Junior High Choir is for students in 6th through 8th grade.  Students meet regularly during lunch and recess to learn vocal techniques and practice songs together.  This group performs at our annual Spring Concert for students in Grades 3-5.
 
Mr. Matthew Hess, matthew.hess@htsavon.org 
 

 

 
  
Math ClubMath Club
Math club is for any 5th through 8th grade student  who enjoys working out problems, talking about math, or learning about math. We will meet on designated Thursdays each month from 2:05 to 3:00 PM in Mrs. Wild’s classroom.
 
 
Mrs. Nancy Wild: nancy.wild@htsavon.org 
 
 
 
math enrichment logo
Math Enrichment 
This supplemental math class is for students in 8th grade and covers certain topics more in depth than either the state standards or diocesan curriculum covered in the classroom. This class is helpful to those students preparing to take additional math exams at their high schools in the spring to determine their placement as freshmen. This class meets on select Thursdays after school.
 
Mrs. Nancy Wild: nancy.wild@htsavon.org 
                                   
 
violen Avon School of Music
The Avon School of Music sends their instructors to Holy Trinity School to teach both group and individual lessons after school.  Students are offered lessons in violin. Students perform before both our Grade K-2 Christmas Concert and our Grade 3-5 Spring Concert.
 
 
                     
                      
  Music Alliance              
 
  Small group music lessons will be offered to students in grades 4-8 during the school day. In addition, these small groups will                                 meet     before or after school as a large group (full band). Check back for more information.
 
                                  Kim Kuchta: kim.kuchta@htsavon.org  
 
 
peer tutoringPeer Tutoring
Peer Tutoring is provided by 8th grade students to students in grades 4-8 needing assistance in any subject.  
 
Mrs. Sandy Gorenc: sandy.gorenc@htsavon.org 
 
 
power of the penPower of the Pen
Power of the Pen is for students in 7th and 9th grade who have an interest in creative writing.  Students meet after school or during lunch/recess on Mondays to practice writing stories in response to a creative prompt. Students compete in a district competition and can qualify for regional and statewide competitions.
 
                                     Mrs. Lisa Jaeger:  lisa.jaeger@htsavon.org, 
 
 
Science OlympiadScience Olympiad Team
Holy Trinity fields a varsity and junior varsity team of 7th and 8th grade students to compete in the St. Ignatius Science Olympiad. Students typically choose to compete in two of the fifteen testing and building events that align with their interest.  Prep sessions are twice per week after school in October and November and the competition is usually held on a Saturday in late November.
 
Mrs. Meghan Namestnik: meghan.namestnik@htsavon.org 
                                     Mrs. Sara Martin: sara.martin@htsavon.org 
 
 
  
scrapbook club
 
Scrapbooking and More 
Scrapbooking and More is for students in 5th through 8th grade. This club meets once a month on Tuesdays after school to either make a seasonal craft or complete individual scrapbooking pages. 
 
Mrs. Kim Millar, kim.millar@htsavon.org
                                   
 
 
Ski Club Logo
Ski Club
Holy Trinity School Ski Club is for students aged 8 to 18 and takes place on five Friday evenings in January and early February at Brandywine. Ski Club includes a once-a-week snow/lift ticket, rental equipment (if applicable), 5 one hour weekly lessons with a certified instructor, and free skiing/snowboarding for the remainder of the season on Fridays at no additional cost as well as four Value Passes for skiing at Alpine Valley, Boston Mills or Brandywine. Only students in 5th through 8th grade can also choose to ride the bus to and from the school for an additional fee. Others must provide their own transportation.
 
Randy Battistoni, randy.battistoni@gmail.com
 
 
                                       
School Newspaper
   
 
 Mrs. Tiffany Cornell: tiffany.cornell@htsavon.org 
 
 
 
 
student council logoStudent Council
Peers elect officers and representatives from each class in 4th through 8th grade to be members of our student council. These students meet regularly during lunch/recess to plan school activities that build our school community including Red Ribbon Week, Veterans' Day Ceremony, Catholic Schools week, Candy Gram Sales and the Junior High Dance.  
 
Mr. Michael Modzeleski: michael.modzeleski@htsavon.org 
Mrs. Sherry St. John: sherry.stjohn@htsavon.org 
 
 
inventionInvention League 
Invention League is for students in 4th and 5th grade. Students research and identify a specific problem to solve. They design and make their own invention and learn how to market it. They will participate in an Invention League in Fair in February and can qualify for state and local competitions.  This club meets on most Wednesdays and Thursdays after school, December through February. 
 
                                     Mrs. Jean Spinazze: jean.spinazze@htsavon.org 
 
 
 
CYO Sports
 
Please visit our CYO Page for more information.
 
  • Baseball
  • Cheerleading
  • Basketball
  • Cross Country
  • Football
  • Track and Field
  • Volleyball
 
Cheerbasketball
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

SpikeFootballVolleyball